Remote Desktop Connection (RDP Gateway) User Guide

The remote desktop feature on your computer allows you to control your office computer from another office or from home. Remote Desktop allows you to use the applications on your office computer, and access your data without being in your office.

You'll want to follow these instructions on your laptop and/or home computer, not on the on-campus desktop computer!.

There is a risk that technologies that allow you to access your desktop may be exploited by others. Be careful to properly secure your desktop to minimize this risk.

Note: You will need to request IT Services to setup & configure your remote desktop connection prior to using it from home or another location. Please speak with your Manager to begin this request. 


Remote Desktop Connection User Guide


Connection Guides

Learn How To Connect Video

Quick how-to video demonstrating how to connect via Remote Desktop.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I close/end my remote connection?

We suggest when you're finished, you save your work and logout of the work computer just as you normally would by clicking the 'Start' button selecting the ‘person’ icon and then selecting 'Sign out'.


Will I lose my open documents when I close my connection?

If you use the blue bar and click the close button, you will remain logged into your work computer with all of your programs, documents, etc open -just like when you 'lock' your work computer.


Should I leave my UFV computer on when off campus?

Please do not power off/shut down the work computer. This can only be done by clicking the ‘Start’ menu and selecting ‘Shut down’. Contact service desk with the work computer ID if you do.


How do I know which computer I am using?

When you connect you will have 2 desktops to manage. One will be your home computer (desktop) and one will be the work computer (desktop). The trick is to know which one you're working in. You can move your mouse to the top center of your screen, and if a blue bar appears, you are on your work desktop. If it doesn't, you are likely on your home desktop.


Can I minimize my work connection?

You can use this bar to minimize or close your work desktop. If minimized, this icon will be on your taskbar which you can click to go back to full screen.


I share my work computer with another Employee, can we connect at the same time?

You may get a prompt asking for another user to login while you’re working. This is someone trying to access this work computer remotely and you can choose to allow or deny the request.  This other person cannot see your screen and are using/viewing their own account.  If you do not sign out when you’re finished, the other person signing in will be prompted to ‘ask your permission’ in order to sign in. The other person can still sign in by clicking ‘yes’ to the prompt and waiting 30 seconds, but they may interrupt or close what you had been working on.


How do I display my remote connection on more than one monitor?

At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Display tab, click the checkbox for Use all my monitors for the remote session. 


How do I move between my home and work computer?

At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Display tab, click the checkbox for Display the connection bar when I use full screen. It displays a blue bar at the top of your work desktop when your mouse hovers over it. This allows you to close or minimize your work desktop and see your home desktop again.


Can I use key combinations as shortcuts?

At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Local Resources tab, under Keyboard, select Only when using the full screen from the drop down menu.  The shortcuts will only work when your work desktop is full screen. Otherwise the shortcuts will apply to your home desktop.


Can I print to my home printer?

At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Local Resources tab, under Local devices and resources check Printers.  This is not recommended but is possible if required. 


Can I copy and paste to my home computer?

At the remote desktop connection screen, before selecting Connect, select Show Options.  On the Local Resources tab, under Local devices and resources check Clipboard.  This is not recommended but is possible if required. 


I received a warning about the identify of the remote computer, should I connect?

If you receive a message notifying you the identity of the remote computer cannot be verified, select YES.  Your setting in the Advanced tab of the Remote Desktop Connection screen are set to warn you about server authentication. 

Details

Article ID: 522
Created
Thu 5/14/20 10:08 AM
Modified
Wed 6/24/20 2:36 PM